Posted by: theedwardsfam | April 4, 2008

"You will never know God is all you need until He is all you have."

I have been thinking about this quote all week and yesterday God decided to give me a fresh and vivid reminder of the practical application of this quote. I woke up yesterday with some version of the stomach flu……I will not go into details, but it was the stomach flu.

I was reminded 7 different times yesterday just how much I wanted to be in heaven instead of stuck on this earth with sickness and pain! God reminded me while I laid in bed all day that all the things that consume my life mean nothing when they are all taken away! I was reminded that He is to be my refuge and my strength…….I couldn’t even keep water down! I was also reminded to pray and pray I did, not just when I was bowing down to the great white throne, but as I lay in bed with nothing to do.

Today I feel much better, but am I praying as much as I did yesterday? Am I relying upon God to strengthen me like I did yesterday? What about tomorrow?

Mattew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18 ” in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Responses

  1. white throne huh? Some might consider that idol worship. hathanks for this post- i needed it today. because He’s making himself my everything. Literally, I have a breath, a roof, and job yet to be given. He is all I have.And all He says is “Do you trust me? Do you trust me to provide?”If your answer is anything but yes, you’re in for a headache.Rom 8:28


Leave a Reply

Categories

