Posted by: theedwardsfam | August 26, 2008

Abraham Lincoln

He is one of the greatest (if not the greatest) Presidents the United States has ever had. I had written down a few quotes from him and was looking at them again and just reminded of what a man he must have been….and how hard the Civil War must have been on him.

“The will of God prevails. In great contests each party claims to act in accordance with the will of God. Both may be, and one must be, wrong. God cannot be for and against the same thing at the same time. In the present civil war it is quite possible that God’s purpose is something different from the purpose of either party – and yet the human instrumentalities, working just as they do, are of the best adaptation to effect His purpose.”

“I have been driven many times upon my knees by the overwhelming conviction that I had nowhere else to go. My own wisdom and that of all about me seemed insufficient for that day.”

“Common looking people are the best in the world: that is the reason the Lord makes so many of them.”

How often am I driven to my knees because I had nowhere else to go? I should be there often, but I like to think that I can figure everything out on my own…how stupid and prideful of me! Abraham Lincoln was one of the greatest men to have ever lived…how can I think that I can make it on my own when Lincoln refused to think that? May I live my life with constant meditation on the fact that I need to be desperate before God at all times!

Leave a Reply

Categories

