Posted by: theedwardsfam | May 28, 2009

Life & Death

Last night I responded to a call from the Pueblo Sheriff’s Dept. where a 17 year old girl had committed suicide.  The family was shocked, especially the younger brother (13 years old).  When I got the phone call it sounded like someone was considering suicide but when I arrived I found out that it had already happened several hours beforehand.  As I walked into the garage where 15 family members were (parents, siblings, grandparents, cousins, etc) I had no idea what to say or do.

WHAT DO YOU SAY TO A BROTHER WHO JUST FOUND HIS SISTER DEAD ON THE FLOOR?

WHAT DO YOU SAY TO PARENTS WHO JUST LOST THEIR ONLY DAUGHTER?

There is nowhere else to turn except to Jesus and ask Him for wisdom and counsel.  I first talked with the brother and grandparents and just asked if I could pray with them and they said yes.  With tears in my own eyes, I asked the God of all comfort & grace to pour out His grace, comfort & peace on the family.  I prayed that the family would draw closer together and even more importantly to draw close to God.  I have only had very limited experience with people losing loved ones and I am quite sure that no matter how many times I’m faced with this situation I will never know what to say.  And that’s a good thing!  Because it will cause me to turn to and rely upon our Holy Father who will give us the words we need as we trust and surrender our lives to Him.  Please pray for the family…I don’t know where they stand with God, but I pray that they might turn to Him (for the 1st time or the 1000th time).  I know that God will get the glory, but there are dozens of family members hurting & grieving right now as well as hundreds of friends, classmates & teammates.  May God use people in their lives to point them to HIM and to a saving faith that can only be found in Christ alone!  Soli Deo Gloria!

If you don’t have a personal relationship with God and would life to give your life to Him, it is very simple.  To surrender you must

1) Admit that you have sinned (disobeyed) and can’t make it on your own.

2) Believe that Jesus lived a perfect life, died on the cross for the consequence your sins, and rose from the dead 3 days later.

3) Confess with your heart & mouth that Jesus is Lord and give your life to Him by asking Him to take over your life and fill you with His Spirit (which He promises to give to everyone who surrenders to Him!).

There is nothing more important you can do in life than give your life over to God…nothing! And nothing can take away your eternal life after you surrender to God because God protects your eternal life with His power!

Leave a Reply

Categories

