Posted by: theedwardsfam | January 1, 2010

2010 has begun!

So the new year has come and not a whole lot has changed, except for writing 10 instead of 09.  Many people are making resolutions that usually last a very short time.  You are a 100 times more likely to keep a resolution if you write it down and a 1000 times more likely to keep it if you review it continually than if you never wrote it down at all.

If you want to be motivated you can read about Jonathan Edwards’ resolutions here.

I have reviewed my own and updated them.  You may read them and hopefully be encouraged and challenged by them! :)

May the Lord work mightily through you to minister to other people in 2010!

RESOLVED

“Being sensible that I am unable to do anything without God’s help, I do humbly entreat Him by His grace to enable me to keep these resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to His will, for Christ’ s sake.” – Jonathan Edwards

I, Jeremy Edwards RESOLVE…

Jonathan Edwards

1.   To act, in all respects, both speaking and doing, as if nobody had been so vile as I, and as if I had committed the same sins, or had the same infirmities or failings as others; and that I will let the knowledge of their failings promote nothing but shame in myself, and prove only an occasion of my confessing my own sins and misery to God. (Gal. 6:1-2)

2.  To remember when there is pain in my life, the sufferings of both Christ and His martyrs. (1 Cor. 2:2)

3. To never do anything out of revenge. (Lev. 19:18)

4.  To never do anything, which if I should see in another, I should count a just occasion to despise him for, or to think any way the more meanly of him. (Gal. 6:1)

5.  To examine carefully, and constantly, what that one thing in me is, which causes me in the least to doubt of the love of God; and to direct all my forces against it. (Ps. 77:6)

6.  To study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same. (Acts 17:11)

7.  To inquire every night, as I am going to bed, wherein I have been negligent,- what sin I have committed,-and wherein I have denied myself;-also at the end of every week, month and year. (Ps. 26:2; 77:6)

8.  To ask myself, at the end of every day, week, month and year, wherein I could possibly, in any respect, have done better. (Ps. 26:2)

9.  Whenever I hear anything spoken in conversation of any person, if I think it would be praiseworthy in me, Resolved to endeavor to imitate it. (1 Cor. 11:1)

10.  To, after afflictions, to inquire, what I am the better for them, and what I might have got by them. (1 Thess. 5:18)

11.  To always to do that, which I shall wish I had done when I see others do it. (Pr. 27:17)

Life

12.  To speak the truth in love, even when I don’t want to. (Eph 4:15)

13.  To only speak in a way that is both encouraging and gracious to those who hear. (Eph 4:29)

14.  To live passionately and enthusiastically for the glory of God and His gospel. (Romans 1:16)

15.  To pursue holiness and obedience so that I may see God. (Heb. 12:14)

16.  To live, act and speak in the same way I would want someone doing to myself. (Matt 22:39)

17.  To make the same decisions in the present that I would make if I had a second chance.

18.  To choose what is best for God’s glory and for myself in accordance with His will no matter what the cost or how hard the decision. (1 Cor. 10:31)

19.  To live the best possible life and not settle for anything less than the best for myself & my family.

20.  To repent from, remove and if necessary ask forgiveness for those things in my life which hinder my relationship with both God and people.

21.  To quickly humble myself and ask forgiveness when I sin against God and others. (James 5:16)

22.  To be patient and slow to speak when wronged. (James 1:19-20)

23.  To memorize and meditate on God’s word and review those verses that I have previously memorized so as to not forget them. (Josh. 1:8)

24.  To speak the truth at all times, no matter what the consequence may be. (Col. 3:9)

25.  To eat and drink only what I need. (Pr. 23:2)

26.  To see other people the way Christ sees them instead of how I want to see them.

27.  To raise my family in love, respect and fear of the Lord. (Pr. 3:5-6)

28.  To seek after God & look for Him as if He were the most valuable thing in my life.

29.  To know nothing except Christ. (1 Cor. 2:2)

Personal

30.  To spend at least 30 minutes in daily devotions. (Ps. 119:16)

31.  To read through the whole Bible every year. (Josh. 1:8)

32.  To spend time daily speaking to God, in His word and listening to Him speak. (1 Sam. 3:10)

33.  To pray daily for my family to grow closer to God, pursue Him, love Him and obey Him. (Eph, 1:6)

34.  To pray daily with my family. (Eph, 1:6)

35.  To talk about my devotions with my family during dinner and read a chapter in the Bible. (2 Thess. 2:17)

36.  To memorize at least 1 verse per week with my family. (Josh. 1:8)

37.  To memorize the book of Philippians & James and review it often. (Ps. 119:11)

38.  To get up the first time my alarm goes off in the morning. (Pr. 6:9)

39.  To read 2-3 books on faith every month. (2 Peter 3:18)

40.  To share Jesus, my testimony or my faith with at least 1 person per week. (Matt 28:19)

Ministry

41.  To pray for every person in my ministry every week!

42.  To make weekly phone calls or write letters to students & parents.

43.  To give students the opportunity to lead, regardless of how well they do initially.

44.  To meet with or call every family at least every 2 months to make sure they are being ministered to.

45.  To constantly develop leaders from adults and students to minister effectively & faithfully.

46.  To disciple 5 male students weekly throughout the year.

47.  To start preparing my lessons at least 2 days ahead of teaching them.

48.  To visit 3 schools at least once per week.

49.  To create unity among the students and train them how to create lasting friendships.

50.  To exhorting, challenging, encouraging and training people to share their faith in Jesus passionately, persuasively intentionally, relentlessly and relationally!

Leave a Reply

Categories

