Posted by: theedwardsfam | May 9, 2011

Susan Edwards (aka…my mom) :)

I wanted to let my mom know (and everyone else too) about the influence she has had on my life. My mom has been a faithful example to me of someone who lives out the following verses.

Philippians 2:4 ” Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.”

Philippians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.”

Proverbs 31:26-28 “She opens her mouth with wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness. She watches over the ways of her household, And does not eat the bread of idleness.  Her children rise up and call her blessed;  Her husband also, and he praises her:”

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 “Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

My mom was constantly seeking to find ways to serve our family, whether we thanked her or not. She was constantly praying for us and interceding for us before our heavenly Father. I don’t know how many books on prayer I have seen her read through because she wanted to pray more for her family.

She spoiled me & my siblings. I barely did laundry until I was away at college. I very rarely had to make my own lunch…even into high school (until I wanted 2 lunches so I had to make 1 of them). She drove me school, church, youth group, basketball games, friends houses and everywhere else I needed to go.

She took care of me when I was sick (I had double pneumonia twice (at least), all sorts of breathing problems when I was young including a 106 temperature). She taught me how to be kind, to care about others more than myself and to be generous to those in need. She taught me how to respond graciously to those who have hurt me by her example (I’m still working on this one). She showed me how to discipline children in love (I was usually the one getting disciplined!).

She showed me how to sacrifice what was good in order to have the best. She showed me how to respect my father. She showed me how to focus on what really mattered…even when I didn’t want to. She tried to teach me how to lose at anything with grace and honor…this is still a work in progress. She tried to teach me that being less competitive isn’t always best for everyone else in the room, gym or church.

She taught me that is ok to play harmless pranks on people we love. This turned out to not be a good idea for her since I usually pranked her…she always jumps when scared :)

She was a terrific cook. I was always well fed with delicious meals & desserts. She also tried to show me how to eat nutritiously. When we visit, she is always willing to make my favorite meals (Chicken Enchiladas, Lasagna, & cookies of some sort).

She taught me a lot and is still doing so. :)

I love you Mom!

Leave a Reply

Categories

